Far From home – TA Williams

As we sail through spring, I can’t help but be disappointed by the weather; salvation is at hand though, in the form of TA Williams new book, Far From Home. I just can’t wait to dig on in and get myself some beautiful Italian scenery and food, hopefully accompanied by a woof of black Labrador.

This book started with a warning that many of us could heed, together with a bit of a mystery/surprise. After a health scare, Amy needs to take a break – and what better boost than to check out her shock inheritance? I found Amy to be a likeable character from the very beginning, which is more than I can attest to with regard to her partner, Gavin. There was just something about him that I didn’t trust! His radio silence while Amy was in Italy certainly spoke volumes! He certainly seemed a bit too keen on treating what was Amy’s, as ‘theirs’, since he heard about the large inheritance! The more I read about him – for example taking over Amy’s flat when she’s not there and leaving the place in a mess, together with his dirty laundry – the more I disliked him. I felt compelled to yell from the Italian rooftops that Amy should dump him, but I suspect she may not hear me! Back to the inheritance, I must confess to a little disappointment upon discovering that Max the smiley, effervescent black Labrador wasn’t part of the deal!

There was some gentle humour in this book, an example being when Amy thought Adam might be coming to comfort her, when what she actually got was a smelly post walk labrador trying to clamber onto her lap! I also loved Amy’s naivety in thinking that Max would settle nicely under the table at the Pizzeria!

Gentle probing about Martin amongst the locals proved that while he was popular, nobody seemed to have much more of an idea than Amy as to what her mystery benefactor did for a living. Just one of the many mysteries to uncover in this great book.

Footnote: For me, this book was like a steaming hot Italian pizza,straight from the wood fired oven. No sooner had I started on it and started to taste its subtle flavours………….well I just wanted to devour it in one sitting, relishing the maelstrom of flavours within. I was desperate to find that perfect balance between gorging greedily, and savouring every mouthful.

Purchase Link: https://mybook.to/WilliamsFarFromHome

Leave a comment