The Cottage in Sweet Meadow Park – Liz Davies

Spring is my favourite season – full of growth and hope for the coming year, and to me, the cover of this book personified spring; hence my enthusiasm for reading and reviewing the burgeoning roots of this story.

My very first impression of Sweet Meadow Park, was that it sounded somewhat rundown, if you were to judge it by its gates. Unfortunately as a race, we do tend to judge a book by its cover, and first impressions tend to make their mark. I confess to sharing the curiosity of our book’s Heroine, Molly, in wondering what the park might have been like in its glory days. I admit that I shared Molly’s idealistic view of the cottage in the park, but wished that the book had pictures, to help my imagination with interpreting exactly how the cottage might look. Jack Feathers gave an interesting first impression, and I looked forward to him and Molly meeting and:

a. Becoming friends

b. Something more.

It certainly seemed as though they both shared an interest in nature and in particular had a fondness of Sweet Meadow Park. Although looking after the park was part of Jack’s job, one could tell that he privately loved it. As for Jack’s ex, Chantelle, my first impressions of her were that she seemed somewhat unhinged. A bit of a ‘bunny boiler’ and he was without a doubt, better off out of that relationship.

Molly was certainly a braver woman than me, on a couple of accounts:

1. For tackling such an extreme home renovation by herself and

2. For actually living in the park house before if had been renovated and cleaned!

What did make me chuckle to myself however, was the vision in my mind of Molly strolling through the park, armed with nothing but bedding and a crowbar! In my head, owning a home with either a pantry or a cattle grid, qualifies you for adulthood, so once Molly had taken charge of the cottage in the park, she was firmly casting off any remaining hints of adolescence, giving in to being a full blown grown up!

I had great hopes for Molly and Jack, and I could sense the chemistry between the two of them, but the stars simply didn’t seem to be aligned in their favour. Can they overcome their differences and work together to improve the state of the park, as well as getting together on a personal level? You will need to read this heartwarming book for yourself, to find out.

Purchase Link: https://mybook.to/CottageSMP

Leave a comment