Starting Over at the Crafty Bee Barn – Margaret Amatt

Luckless Lilah Clarke needs a big break, but getting caught wrecking a stall at the GlenbriarFair was not what she had in mind –especially when the man who catches her is as hot as a summer’s day and sends her heart racing.Charity campaigner Aidan McBride has returned to Glenbriar after a long absence to discover the love of his life dating hiscousin, his cottage in tatters, and his beloved bees gone. When he catches Lilah destroying his mum’s stall and discovers the reason, he sees something in her he can’t explain –or resist.Feeling sorry for her, he offers her a job, and she reluctantly accepts. What other options does she have? Now, it isn’t just Aidan’s new bees that are buzzing. Lilah dreams of Aidan being hers, but for someone with a background like hers, he’s well out of her reach.Still stung by the loss of his ex, Aidan struggles with his ever-growing attraction to Lilah. But if he doesn’t spit out exactly how he feels about her before her past catches up with her, he stands to lose the real love of his life.

Purchase Link –https://mybook.to/craftybee

It was with great enthusiasm that I picked up this book from a new (to me) author, to read and review. I saw that this was book 7 in the Glenbriar series, but that the book could be enjoyed either as part of the series, or as a standalone book.

I really felt for Aiden, getting back to his cottage after having been away for thirteen months, only to find it in a right old state! May I be so bold as to suggest a deliberate ploy on the part of his Mother, to compel him to stay at her place? One thing is for certain though – he wouldn’t want to be living in the house with his Girlfriend, who, (while he was away) seems to have ‘gifted’ him the surprise of having become engaged to his cousin – although she hasn’t actually told him this, having merely left Him to find this out via third parties! What I couldn’t quite get over, I must admit, is the way that when Finlay (cousin) and Elise (ex) bumped into Aiden, they acted as though nothing had happened! One thing I learned fairly early on in this book though, was that our hero, Aiden, was a thoroughly decent chap. A good egg. Despite some of her family members, Lilah seemed a similarly decent sort.

Despite the obvious neglect, Woodend Cottage did sound as though it could actually be rather delightful, with its orchards and buzzing (in the future, hopefully) bee hives and I did actually wish for a moment, that this book had pictures, in order to not have to draw so heavily on my imagination as to what the much loved home looked like.

Lilah and Aiden seemed to have the same incapacitating affect on each other, whilst being simultaneously oblivious of each others thoughts! They seemed from such different backgrounds, yet astonishingly perfect for each other and I just hoped that they would both realise this sooner rather than later, with the minimum amount of interference from anyone else!

There was no escaping the feel the feel-good vibes of this story. Feel-good, with a generous helping of (showing my age here….) Pretty Woman. Once I had got my nose past the first chapter, I struggled to put the book down, and ended up reading all night! I didn’t just read this book, I devoured it greedily, rarely coming up for air! A few hours of heartwarming escapism made me feel better then a night’s sleep, and I found myself desperate to read the other books in this series.

Leave a comment